News

News: Canine Star needed for Of Mice And Men

Potential canine stars are being sought to appear in The Touring Consortium and Birmingham Repertory Theatre’s new touring production of Of Mice And Men.

Badger, the previous dog to play Candy’s Dog died just before rehearsals began so a new dog is being sought to step into the role.

No previous acting experience is required and the dog will be on a lead the entire time on stage.

Producers are seeking and elderly dog to playthe role in each city on the tour. Most breeds and sizes will be considered, but he or she should ideally look relatively elderly and have the appearance of a ‘working’ dog, and must have a calm temperament.

The dog will be on stage for around 5 minutes in total, alongside Dudley Sutton, playing Candy and on a lead at all times. The successful dog and owner will receive expenses of up to £300 per week and will be required 6-9pm Tuesday, 7-9pm Wednesday – Saturday of the run, and 2.00- 3.30pm for the Wednesday and Saturday matinees.

Interested owners should contact Janice Taylor at [email protected]

Of Mice And Men tour dates

Tuesday 23 – Saturday 27 February Cheltenham Everyman Theatre
Tuesday 1 – Saturday 5 March Nottingham Theatre Royal
Tuesday 8 – Saturday 12 March Grand Theatre, Wolverhampton
Tuesday 15 – Saturday 19 March Darlington Civic Theatre
Tuesday 22 – Saturday 26 March Grand Theatre, Blackpool
Tuesday 12 – Saturday 16 April Arts Theatre, Cambridge
Tuesday 19 – Saturday 23 April Theatre Royal, Brighton
Tuesday 26 – Saturday 30 April King’s Theatre, Edinburgh
Tuesday 3 – Saturday 7 May New Theatre, Cardiff
Tuesday 10 – Saturday 14 May Oxford Playhouse
Monday 23 – Saturday 28 May Leicester Curve

Image: Ellie Kurttz

Tags

The Reviews Hub - Features

Our Features team is under the editorship of Nicole Craft. The team is responsible for sourcing interviews, articles, competitions from across the country. The Reviews Hub was set up in 2007. Our mission is to provide the most in-depth, nationwide arts coverage online.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Close
Close